Academy Prize

The prize is awarded for outstanding scientific achievements in any disciplinary field. The award includes prize money of 50,000 Euros and may be awarded biennially. The prize is supported by the Collegium pro Academia – Society of Friends of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

The Academy Prize is conferred in the context of the annual ceremonial session on the Academy’s Leibniz Day celebration in the summer. The prizewinner presents his or her research work in a short academic paper at the award ceremony.


Deadline for nominations 2024: 15th January 2023
Nomination form (DOCX, 16KB) 


Laudations (German)

2020: Professor Dr. Peter R. Schreiner

2018: Professor Dr. med. Hannah Monyer

2016: Professor Dr. Peter Scholze

2014: Professor Dr. Andreas Bausch

2013: Professor Dr. Helmut Cölfen

2012: Professor Dr. Bernhard Schölkopf

2011: Professor Dr. Martin Mulsow

2010: Professor Dr. Michael Kramer

2009: Dr. Matthias Staudacher

2008: PD Dr. Milos Vec

2007: Professor Dr. Martin Haspelmath

2006: Professor Dr. Heino Falcke

2005: Professor Dr. Michael Schön

2004: Professor Dr. Frédéric Merkt

2003: Professor Dr. Jürgen Gauß

2002: Professor Dr. Albrecht Koschorke

2001: Dr. Achim von Keudell

2000: Professor Dr. Axel Meyer

1999: Professor Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl

1998: Professor Dr. Thomas Kaufmann

1997: Dr. David Vokrouhlický

1996: Dr. Marius Grundmann und Dr. Richard Nötzel

© 2024 Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften