Tsendee Yunger recording a speaker of the Durvud dialect of Oirat, spoken in Western Mongolia

The ELDP is a funding program to document and preserve endangered languages in a digital archive.

The Endangered Languages Documentation Programme (ELDP) promotes the digital documentation and preservation of endangered languages worldwide. Each year, the program provides grants to approximately 30 to 40 speakers and early career scholars to work with language communities to create collections of digital audio and video recordings. These are archived in the Endangered Languages Archive (ELAR) and made available free of charge to language communities, scholars, and the public worldwide.
 

The archive contains unique recordings of local knowledge systems represented by the bearers of that knowledge in their own languages. The digital collections include not only linguistic elicitations, but also recordings of everyday conversations, rituals and chants, instructions for building fish traps or boats, and explanations of kinship systems and the use of medicinal plants.


So far, the ELDP has awarded grants to more than 500 documentation projects of varying scope, and has trained hundreds of speakers, early career scholars, and documentarians in modern language documentation. An overview of all funded projects can be found here .
 

The unique collections of the Endangered Languages Archive can be found here .

Contact
Dr. Mandana Seyfeddinipur
Director
Endangered Languages Documentation Programme
Tel.: +49 (0)30 20370 327
mandana.seyfeddinipur@bbaw.de 
Jägerstraße 22/23
10117 Berlin
© 2022 Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften

Tsendee Yunger nimmt einen Sprecher des Durvud-Dialekts von Oirat auf, der in der westlichen Mongolei gesprochen wird

Das ELDP ist ein Förderprogramm zur Dokumentation und Bewahrung bedrohter Sprachen in einem digitalen Archiv.

Das Endangered Languages Documentation Programme (ELDP) fördert weltweit die digitale Dokumentation und Bewahrung bedrohter Sprachen. Über das Programm erhalten jedes Jahr ca. 30 bis 40 Sprecher:innen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen Stipendien, um mit Sprachgemeinschaften Sammlungen digitaler Audio- und Videoaufnahmen zu erstellen. Diese werden im Endangered Languages Archive (ELAR) archiviert und Sprachgemeinschaften, Wissenschaftler:innen sowie der Öffentlichkeit weltweit kostenfrei zugänglich gemacht.
 

Das ELAR enthält einzigartige Aufzeichnungen lokaler Wissenssysteme, die von den Träger:innen des Wissens in ihren Sprachen jeweils selbst dargestellt werden. In den digitalen Sammlungen finden sich nicht nur linguistische Elizitationen, sondern auch Aufnahmen von alltäglichen Unterhaltungen, Ritualen und Gesängen, Anleitungen zum Fischreusen- oder Bootsbau, sowie Erklärungen zu Verwandtschaftssystemen und zur Nutzung medizinischer Pflanzen.


Das ELDP hat bisher Fördergelder für mehr als 500 Dokumentationsprojekte unterschiedlichen Umfangs vergeben und hunderte Sprecher:innen, Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen und Dokumentarist:innen in moderner Sprachdokumentation trainiert. Einen Überblick aller geförderten Projekte finden Sie hier .

Die einzigartigen Sammlungen des Endangered Languages Archive finden Sie hier .

Kontakt
Dr. Mandana Seyfeddinipur
Director
Endangered Languages Documentation Programme
Tel.: +49 (0)30 20370 327
mandana.seyfeddinipur@bbaw.de 
Jägerstraße 22/23
10117 Berlin
© 2021 Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften