Responsible Evaluation of Research and Scholarship

The Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities in cooperation with the Einstein Stiftung Berlin  and the German Rectors’ Conference .

Aufzeichnung vom 11.10.2022

Der an dieser Stelle gezeigte Inhalt wird von einer externen Quelle eingebunden. Wenn Sie diesen Inhalt anzeigen lassen, werden Verbindungsdaten an Dritte weitergegeben.

The evaluation and review of research and scholarship is a central activity of research-performing organisations, scientific institutions, and research funding organisations, as well as researchers. Numerous high-level stakeholders, including UNESCO, the European Commission, SCIENCE EUROPE, LERU, and EUA, have recently called for a reflection on current evaluation practices, and have published recommendations, declarations, position papers, statements, manifestos, and calls proposing concrete agendas for reform. Although there is broad consensus regarding the need for fundamental reform, defining the specific indicators and criteria to be used, along with the question of how they should be weighted, remains fraught with controversy. Will including such criteria as Open Science, diversity, and others perhaps undermine the focus on excellence?

In the panel discussion, representatives of different research disciplines and organisations will explore which criteria could help to evaluate research in the future, and how these criteria might take into account disciplinary differences.


  •     Peter-André Alt, President of the German Rectors’ Conference
  •     Dieter Imboden, Professor Emeritus of Environmental Physics at ETH Zurich, President of the Jury
  •     Maria Leptin, President of the European Research Council
  •     Julie Maxton, Executive Director of the Royal Society
  •     Sarah de Rijke, Director Center for Science and Technology at Leiden University
  •     Uwe Schimank, Professor of Sociological Theory, University of Bremen, Member of the BBAW


  • Ulrich Dirnagl, Clinical Neurosciences & Director of the BIH QUEST Center & Experimental Neurology, Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Secretary of the Einstein Foundation Award
© 2024 Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften